

Concordia Student Union - Council of Representatives CSU Special Council Meeting Thursday, March 11, 2021 Via Zoom, 19h00

1. CALL TO ORDER

The chairperson calls the meeting to order at 19h49.

We would like to begin by acknowledging that Concordia University is located on unceded Indigenous lands. The Kanien'kehá:ka Nation is recognized as the custodians of the lands and waters on which we gather today. TiohEá:ke/Montreal is historically known as a gathering place for many First Nations. Today, it is home to a diverse population of Indigenous and other peoples. We respect the continued connections with the past, present, and future in our ongoing relationships with Indigenous and other peoples within the Montreal community.

2. ROLL CALL

Council Chairperson: Caitlin Robinson Council Minutes Keeper: Michelle Lam

Executives present for the meeting were: Isaiah Joyner (General Coordinator), Sarah Mazhero (Academic & Advocacy Coordinator), Daniel Amico (Internal Affairs Coordinator), Amy Nguyen (Sustainability Coordinator), Eduardo Malorni (Student Life Coordinator), Holly Mark-Hilton (Finance Coordinator), Victoria Pesce (External Affairs & Mobilization Coordinator) and Malcolm Asselin (Loyola Coordinator)

Councillors present for the meeting were: Christopher Vaccarella (Arts & Science), Phineas Ambrose Savchenko (Fine Arts), Marlena Valenta (Arts & Science), Tzvi Hersh Filler (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Wyatt Niblett-Wilson (John Molson School of Business), Brandon Grimaldi (Arts & Science), James Hanna (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Chealsea Okankwu (John Molson School of Business), Jeremya Deneault (John Molson School of Business), S Shivaane (Arts & Science), Shlomo Tanny (John Molson School of Business), Lauren Perozek (John Molson School of Business)

Executives absent for the meeting were: N/A

Councillors absent for the meeting were: Debra Irabor (Arts & Science), Arieh Barak (Independent), Anais Gagnon (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Roman Zelensky (Arts & Science), Sean Howard (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Jarrad Haas (Fine Arts), Harrison Kirshner (John Molson School of Business), Alexander Stojda (Gina Cody School of Engineering), Diana Lukic (Fine Arts), Shaun Sederoff (Arts & Science), Howard Issley (John Molson School of Business), Sarah Bubenheimer (Arts & Science)

3. Amendment to Standing Regulation 255

Eduardo Malorni presents the following motion. Seconded by Tzvi Hersh Filler. Motion passes.

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Standing Regulation 255 be amended to read as follows:

- 255. Any non-CSU group seeking a new fee levy must submit an application to the Policy Committee for review and approval on the Monday following September 15th, for consideration during the fall by-election or on the first Monday of February, for consideration during the March general elections. The application must contain:
 - (a) The group's constitution and regulations
 - (b) A list of at least 3 officers responsible for the organization
 - (c) A petition in support of the fee levy's collection, containing the name, faculty, student ID number, and signature, of at least 500 undergraduate students
 - (d) The group should prepare a draft question to be approved by council and the CEO.
 - (e) Any and all other documentation relating to the group's organizational structure and processes.
 - (f) An internal complaints policy.
 - (g) Previous year's budget.
 - (h) Expected budget for the following year taking the new fee levy into consideration

Eduardo Malorni: Because of COVID, it became difficult for groups to collect the requisite signatures. This is why we want to give them this extension. We are also dropping it from 750 signatures to 500.

4. ADJOURNMENT

S Shivaane motions to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Tzvi Hersh Filer. Motion carries.

Meeting adjourned at 19h54.